Skip to content
Lisburn Counts — Lisburn, in numbers.Local help →

Lisburn · Northern Ireland

People and living standards

Lisburn and Castlereagh council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Lisburn and Castlereagh

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Lisburn and Castlereagh local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 124,585 in 2001 to 152,367 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

2001 to 2025

Lisburn and Castlereagh council area · people

Reviewed figures: 2001 to 2025. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 124,585 people in 2001; 152,367 people in 2025. 22.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Lisburn and Castlereagh council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991These figures are missing.
1992These figures are missing.
1993These figures are missing.
1994These figures are missing.
1995These figures are missing.
1996These figures are missing.
1997These figures are missing.
1998These figures are missing.
1999These figures are missing.
2000These figures are missing.
2001124,585
2002124,757
2003125,001
2004125,764
2005127,043
2006128,185
2007129,179
2008130,584
2009132,386
2010133,909
2011135,280
2012136,498
2013137,201
2014139,186
2015140,938
2016142,088
2017143,737
2018145,644
2019147,467
2020148,102
2021149,272
2022149,915
2023150,822
2024151,669
2025152,367
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

2001 to 2025

Lisburn and Castlereagh council area · people

Reviewed figures: 2001 to 2025. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 27,771 people in 2001; 30,011 people in 2025. 8.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Lisburn and Castlereagh council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991These figures are missing.
1992These figures are missing.
1993These figures are missing.
1994These figures are missing.
1995These figures are missing.
1996These figures are missing.
1997These figures are missing.
1998These figures are missing.
1999These figures are missing.
2000These figures are missing.
200127,771
200227,448
200327,132
200426,884
200526,795
200626,613
200726,644
200826,944
200927,203
201027,373
201127,528
201227,533
201327,426
201427,619
201527,987
201628,173
201728,607
201829,186
201929,700
202029,716
202130,158
202230,363
202330,370
202430,221
202530,011
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

2001 to 2025

Lisburn and Castlereagh council area · people

Reviewed figures: 2001 to 2025. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 80,094 people in 2001; 93,628 people in 2025. 16.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Lisburn and Castlereagh council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991These figures are missing.
1992These figures are missing.
1993These figures are missing.
1994These figures are missing.
1995These figures are missing.
1996These figures are missing.
1997These figures are missing.
1998These figures are missing.
1999These figures are missing.
2000These figures are missing.
200180,094
200280,368
200380,603
200481,233
200582,156
200683,048
200783,558
200884,040
200985,027
201085,763
201186,422
201286,963
201387,232
201488,428
201589,300
201689,778
201790,646
201891,483
201992,282
202092,454
202192,691
202292,642
202392,951
202493,285
202593,628
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

2001 to 2025

Lisburn and Castlereagh council area · people

Reviewed figures: 2001 to 2025. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 16,720 people in 2001; 28,728 people in 2025. 71.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Lisburn and Castlereagh council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991These figures are missing.
1992These figures are missing.
1993These figures are missing.
1994These figures are missing.
1995These figures are missing.
1996These figures are missing.
1997These figures are missing.
1998These figures are missing.
1999These figures are missing.
2000These figures are missing.
200116,720
200216,941
200317,266
200417,647
200518,092
200618,524
200718,977
200819,600
200920,156
201020,773
201121,330
201222,002
201322,543
201423,139
201523,651
201624,137
201724,484
201824,975
201925,485
202025,932
202126,423
202226,910
202327,501
202428,163
202528,728
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 149,106 residents
How this census compares with other years

Northern Ireland’s 2021 native ethnicity categories are retained. Counts are for current Local Government Districts, not reconstructed historical districts. Different tables can differ slightly because of census privacy protection.

Ethnic group · Lisburn and Castlereagh · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White143,24096.1%
Irish Traveller1090.1%
Roma170%
Indian1,2670.8%
Chinese9670.6%
Filipino7340.5%
Pakistani1930.1%
Arab1520.1%
Other Asian3520.2%
Black African4080.3%
Black Other1500.1%
Mixed1,2920.9%
Other ethnicities2250.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 5.6% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Lisburn and Castlereagh council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,263 per person in 1997; £24,515 per person in 2024. 164.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Lisburn and Castlereagh council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,263
19989,234
19999,608
200010,414
200110,762
200211,218
200311,787
200412,407
200512,895
200613,299
200713,851
200814,187
200914,286
201014,281
201114,487
201215,011
201315,711
201416,176
201517,230
201617,615
201717,752
201818,218
201918,965
202018,968
202119,722
202220,973
202322,627
202424,515
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Lisburn and Castlereagh council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -12.7% in 1997; -5.6% in 2024. 7.1 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Lisburn and Castlereagh council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-12.7
1998-14.7
1999-15.1
2000-12.5
2001-13
2002-11.3
2003-9.6
2004-8.6
2005-8.3
2006-9.2
2007-9.7
2008-9.9
2009-10.8
2010-11.6
2011-11.1
2012-11.1
2013-10.3
2014-10.5
2015-9.4
2016-8.5
2017-9.9
2018-10.7
2019-10
2020-9.6
2021-9.7
2022-8.7
2023-7.5
2024-5.6
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

17.9%

21 March 2021 · Lisburn and Castlereagh local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

First count table in Ward/LGD/NI worksheets of census-2021-ms-g01.xlsx. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Census privacy adjustments can make totals differ slightly between tables.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.2%

21 March 2021 · Lisburn and Castlereagh local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

First count table in Ward/LGD/NI worksheets of census-2021-ms-d01.xlsx. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Census privacy adjustments can make totals differ slightly between tables.

Source →

Average home price

£241,000

July 2026 · Lisburn and Castlereagh local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

25 of 35 requested annual observations are available for population; missing years are not zero.

25 of 35 requested annual observations are available for people aged 0 to 15; missing years are not zero.

25 of 35 requested annual observations are available for people aged 16 to 64; missing years are not zero.

25 of 35 requested annual observations are available for people aged 65 or over; missing years are not zero.

No counts returned for this exact present-day area code in the 2011 census table. Older boundaries have not been reassigned by name or population share.

The 2001 Northern Ireland ethnicity table uses former districts; a verified reconstruction to this modern area is not included.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.